CIRSF Annual International Conference 2022 – EBI Europe
on 15 September 2022


“The Future of the EU Financial System in a New Geo-Economic Context”

Challenges to financial stability with the return to inflation and uncertain growth –
How progress in Banking Union and Capital Markets Union may avoid financial fragmentation


The Conference is organised by CIRSF – Research Center on Regulation and Supervision of the Financial Sector – under the project on the overall reform of the governance of the EMU – with the support of the Jean Monnet Program, Banco de Portugal (Bank of Portugal) and the Portuguese Securities Commission (CMVM) in the context of their scientific partnership with CIRSF and in conjunction and scientific cooperation with the European Banking Institute (EBI). This event will be hosted on the campus of the

Law Faculty – University of Lisbon (FDUL)
Main Auditorium
Alameda da Universidade
1649-014 Lisboa


Although physical participation is strongly encouraged, this event will also be offered in hybrid format (via TEAMS) for those who wish to participate virtually (the invitation link will be provided closer to date). Registration in either case is necessary (please see respective registration email address below).

The programme includes the offer of a light lunch at the venue of the Conference.

Register here:

Registration Deadline: 13 September 2022

General Contact:

Due to the limited availability of seats, it is advised that you register as soon as possible.

Confirmed Speakers include: 

  • José Miguel Almeida (Member of the Board of CMVM – Portuguese Securities Commission)
  • Filippo Anunziata (University Bocconi, Milan/European Banking Institute)
  • Thorsten Beck (Director of the Florence School of Banking and Finance – European University Institute/IUE)
  • José Manuel Campa (Chair of European Banking Authority – EBA)
  • Mário Centeno (Governor of Banco de Portugal)
  • Pierre-Henri Conac (Luxembourg University/European Banking Institute)
  • Vitor Constâncio (Former ECB Vice President – 2010/2018/ University of Navarra and ISEG)
  • Luis de Guindos (Vice President of the ECB)
  • Danuta Hübner (Member of European Parliament – EPP Group)
  • Enrico Leone (Chancellor, European Banking Institute)
  • Luis Máximo dos Santos (Vice Governor of Banco de Portugal)
  • Irene Mecatti (University of Siena)
  • Niamh Moloney (London School of Economics/LSE Law School)
  • Luís Silva Morais (Chair of CIRSF/Lisbon Law University/European Banking Institute)
  • Jan Reinder de Carpentier (Vice Chair – Single Resolution Board/SRB – Brussels)
  • Verena Ross (Chair of European Securities and Markets Authority – ESMA)
  • Paula Vaz Freire (Director of FDUL/Lisbon Law University/CMVM/Banco de Portugal)


View Full Programme